PDA

View Full Version : Top Of Whishlist

joany
07-06-2009, 07:51 AM
How technically feasible would it be for Technomate to add functionality for a usb wireless network card.
We know that the receiver is capable of becoming a network device surely all that would be necessary would be to add driver software for the usb network device.

What do others think?

tinto de verano
07-06-2009, 09:10 AM
Hi joany,

I'm no TM expert, I'm no expert at all in anything, and pardon me for intruding in this wishlist, which I'll keep an eye on as I'm considering replacing my HDCI2000... one of these days.

Now, apart from the fact that it would be great for TM to add that feature, I'm assuming:

1) TM has ethernet port
2) TM has no wireless connectivity
3) You cannot run an ethernet port all through the house...

Have you considered one (or 2) of those network through the mains adapters (homeplug, powerline... network): plug one into a wall socket and your router, plug the other one next to the TM and plug an ethernet cable between the adapter and the TM: you've got it networked! (I think, I hope).

Apparently, those new network thorough the mains adapters are faster than a wireless connection and therefore are even more suitable for video streaming...

Hope this helps.

tinto de verano

Giga
07-06-2009, 09:36 AM
if the TM has an ethernet port you can have these solutions:

Wireless Ethernet Bridge: setup the bridge on the pc, when it is configured move it to the TM ethernet port
Internal power grid: mains plug Ethernet adapter to mains plug Ethernet adapter

depending on what you are up to (cs?), this could be a solution:

RS232 Ethernet Adapter

On the usb, don't know if it is possible (hardware/software wise) or even could be implemented. As for now only the file system goes over USB?

joany
07-06-2009, 10:09 AM
Hey guys thanks for the suggestions. I never considered mains connectivity. Great idea.