PDA

View Full Version : How to set up Motor

Jasper1422
13-07-2009, 10:33 PM
Hi All

i'm new to all of this, Have Humax 5400z box,diablo cam 2.3, 1.2 meter dish motorised. Have a few questions that i need help with.

I'm living in the West of ireland, Set u my Dish last year but having trouble finding alot of satellites. Set it up on 1 deg west and when it gets has far has 16 deg east i only have 10% quality if i do. The manual that came with my Motor doesn't tell me much. Think its Called a Dark motor or somethink like that.If someome can tell me what the best way to set it up would be great.

Haven't been using my box in a while and yesterday i updated to 1.81 underworld and updated latest keybin.the last underworld i had on it was 1.72, Does it make a differance going from 1.72 to 1.81? can't open 1 deg west now, Haven't tried much more stuff because the problem i'm having with motor.

I'd be greatfull for any Help

Thanks in advance

veron57
13-07-2009, 10:43 PM
Is whatever your motor is attached to as vertical as possible? get the spirit level out and check. If not, you will find the further you move the dish the weaker the signal gets.
Also, do you have the correct longitude and latitude values entered? Look these values up in google earth of your exact dish position.

Make sure your pole/motor/dish are in line with one another. ie, when your dish is pointing at 1west, birdseye view looking down on top of your dish, your pole/motor/dish are all in line like so:

\___/
dish
__|
motor
__|
pole

if it is like below then it is wrong:

\___/
dish
__\
motor
__/
pole

Rick1980
13-07-2009, 10:50 PM
Hi, It sounds like your not tracking the arc properly.

First is to make sure that the pole is dead plumb. Check your elivation/latitude setting is correct. Then make sure the dish is aligned to the centre spinne of the motor.