PDA

View Full Version : Help with SoftCam

Smash
16-08-2009, 10:51 PM
I'm really new to this satellite stuff and have just bought a ClarkeTech HD5000C Plus. A friend tells me It's possible to download a softcam to enable me to access some of the channels. Can someone please guide me to where I can find this and let me know what I do with it when I get it.

captainglassback
17-08-2009, 10:59 AM
Hello Smash I am not at all familiar with your stb but I do have a CT. There are 2 types of firmware. Find the highest numbered one for your model with a 'p' after it. Then find any recent softcam file for TM or CT. Load it to your USB stick and stick it in your stb and load to stb.

Smash
17-08-2009, 11:08 AM
Thanks for that. Managed to update the firmware to 1.74 and have downloaded the softcam from this forum. Problem is I don't know how to load the softcam into my stb.

captainglassback
17-08-2009, 01:26 PM
Well if your model is simlar to mine.....poke usb in your stb. Go menu....USB....Data Transfer. (If your stb does not then show the softcam as one of the files to be loaded it might be because the 174 is a 174 and not a 174p!!). The file takes around 4 seconds to load. Normally there is a new softcam every day or so but things are quieter at moment due to fewer 'changes'!

Smash
17-08-2009, 04:58 PM
Hi, thanks for the advice.

Tried what you said. When updating, the stb offers me the "Normal Database" or the "Default Database". Is this correct and which one should I choose?

captainglassback
17-08-2009, 07:19 PM
OK. I'm guessing as yours is a very different model to mine. I'm not sure that you should be selecting either. Your file called 174 I believe to be 'original' firmware. Load both a 162p firmware file and the softcam to your usb stick. See if those become options to then upload to your stb.....the firmware first.

Smash
18-08-2009, 09:39 AM
Hi

First of all - thanks for your help and patience.

In your earlier post that you said ;