PDA

View Full Version : Connecting Dreambox DM500HD to the internet?

Londoner
20-04-2010, 06:10 PM
Hi Guys,

A newbie here, so sorry in advance if I have posted this in the wrong section.

Is it possible to connect the Dbox via a power over ethernet device to the internet? Is it easy to connect?

What about a wifi dongle? Not sure if this can be done due to the Dbox Dm500HD having a mini usb port only I think.

The reason for all this is that I plan to purchase the above box but using an ethernet cable to connect to the box will be too much hard work as I would need a huge ethernet cable and would get too messy.

Thanks in advance.

K.

sonic1
20-04-2010, 06:33 PM
Homeplugs are an option for you and they work perfectly.

The best option is what I did which was to run cat5 around the house but it takes a lot if time and effort.

Londoner
20-04-2010, 06:37 PM
Thank Sonic, appreciate your assistance. :)

I think I will go with a 'homeplug' Sorry for being dumb, as I am new to all this.

Could you please reccommend one? one I could just pick up from PC world or buy online.

Cheers

Londoner
20-04-2010, 06:39 PM
Would a NETGEAR XAV101 Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter be suitable?

paul01609
20-04-2010, 06:41 PM
just make shure they come in a pair some are just single,carnt fault them very good but i think you need to check that they will be on the same ring main i beleave

paul01609
20-04-2010, 06:44 PM
_http://www.ebuyer.com/cat/Wired/subcat/Homeplug-Adapters_ should be cheaper than pc world and can order up till 11pm for next day delivery

Londoner
20-04-2010, 06:46 PM
just make shure they come in a pair some are just single,carnt fault them very good but i think you need to check that they will be on the same ring main i beleave

Thanks Paul.

The Netgear XAV101 Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter allows you to create an ultra-fast network connection in whatever room of your house is in need of one.