PDA

View Full Version : What does 800HDSE update do?

diarmuid
06-02-2012, 08:09 PM
I have a new 800HDSE but it wont update the latest file.. Its still working fine but exactly what does the latest update do that I'm missing?

Regards

Andy

passete
06-02-2012, 08:33 PM
What file and what update ?

diarmuid
06-02-2012, 08:43 PM
The box locked on me twice! When I rebooted I got a dialogue box asking me did I want to update the firmware! At least thats what I remember! I don't want to switch it off again at the moment. I selected YES and it began the update with a progress bar then stopped 40% in to it. I exited from that and returned to my original state.. All seems to be working fine. What I want to know is what added facilities etc arise from the firmware update.

Its my first time with the 800SE I had the DM500 before that.

Any info welcomed.

oldfart
07-02-2012, 12:06 AM
since the software for dreamboxes is (mostly) open source- lots of 'errors' are updated all the time.
there could be none or 10 a day.
If your box (I assume its original) has locked up - it may be worth re-installing the latest image that you use and go from there.

diarmuid
07-02-2012, 06:31 PM
On the principle of not complicating an already satisfactory situation I am going to leave the update situation alone. However I do have a recording playback problem listed elsewhere I hope can be resolved.

regards

Andy

tr8.
07-02-2012, 07:08 PM
I still have mine working on a image from dec 2010 (iCVS)
Had no issues so not changed it, only updated channel list's

nosmo king
07-02-2012, 07:20 PM
i would be easier if you gave some info to this

ie what image you using
is it a clone or not

if a clone never update image online
_________________________________ _
_________________________________ _

diarmuid
07-02-2012, 08:02 PM