PDA

View Full Version : 9000HD USB failing after 6 months - any ideas?

slapper4
18-03-2012, 10:59 PM
Hi,
my spiderbox 9000HD is refusing to record or bring up the recorded files list, this is a new problem.

(The HDD is fine, ive plugged in to my pc to test and even played files using trp player perfectly)
up till now ive been recording a few times a day, for 6 months, using samsung S2 500gb personal drive (usb powered only)

now the 9000HD wont read data off the hdd OR my USB stick that it had been fine with

when i go to the USB menu, i get blamk black list, and one option RED = config
that pops up AUtodetct, USB1,USB2 options
if i select Auto, it cant find it,
if i select either the other 2 options, theres a little whizz noise from the HDD and then back to blank

(it wont detect anything so cant format etc etc)

if its both USB ports failed, then i dont think the menu could make the HDD respond as it does

any ideas please ??

slapper4
18-03-2012, 11:06 PM
solved this, power off on the rear switch wait 2 minutes, power on, all fine now

guess it got its knickers in a twist again, just remembered it solved the prob i had months ago when half my channels went scrambled.

standyby/on using remote control/front button several times in the previous hour did no good.

i will leave this up here as may be of use to others having same prob in future

echelon
18-03-2012, 11:53 PM
mine are always switched off on a mains timer every night , that way they get a clean boot daily AND save power overnight when not in use

Wossname
19-03-2012, 11:20 AM
I power mine down every night too using the rocker switch on the back.
Even so I've found the same problem with USB option in the menu simply not seeing either USB 1 (HDD - USB Powered) or USB 2 (stick) during normal use. Just blank where the file list should be.
Last time I just rebooted from menu and the problem cleared.

slapper4
19-03-2012, 11:34 AM