PDA

View Full Version : S3500HDCCi - Issues and questions.

rake
14-04-2012, 10:43 PM
Hi Forum.

I am new to this but not to linux / IT etc as I work in the industry as a support engineer for telco so not totally fresh.

Anyway, Since buying the 3500 I have loaded mgcamd that I got from a kind user and also the FDU channell list posted here a couple of days ago.

I Have an 80cm dish with technomate motor and works well.

The problems I am having are as follows -

1) 7 Day EPG 28.2

I read here that the way to get this is to use the express epg once in the EPG menu and upload the 7 day page by page once a week. Aside from this being an arduous pain in the behind I did it tonight and by the time I do 3 pagres the 3500 locks up and does not respond to the remote. It requires a 3pin reset to bring it back and then the same happens next time I try to load the express EPG making it impossible to obtain.

Does anyone have any fix or idea why the box locks up ? Faulty hardware / software ?

Current SW = V2.09.54
Loader L6.40
FDU1.3 / FDU120412

If I switch source and then switch back to CBL/SAT there is no signal detected by the TV even though the 3500 is booted and on.

2) Is there a better image or such for this box such as E2 that will not need the EPG updating every week ? I read that E2 is good for alot of boxes but not read anything specific to the 3500 and dont want to risk bricking it without support.

What is the most stable and supported software for this box please ?

3) Thank you for any advice and assistance.

Ron.

rake
15-04-2012, 11:55 AM
Updated FW to latest - no more crashes.

Other Q's still valid :)

rake
20-04-2012, 12:10 PM
:( Update -

Box now crashes after loading some 10 EPG pages and makes it even more frustrating as have to reboot and start again.

Also some sponaneous restarts observed.

Not sure if plugin / firmware or hardware issue tbh.