PDA

View Full Version : elevation

beany1
13-01-2013, 02:23 PM
ok as i speak i am setting up new motorised installation using tm2600,box tm5402,65cm 26degree offset dish.dish mounted on pole and aiming due south by eye according to dishpointer.black ultra set at 0 skew.lat set at 51 degrees on motor and tightened.all other bolts just pinched up for movement until locked to ref 1w.i am a little unsure about what the elevation should be on dish itself.what do you think.

echelon
13-01-2013, 02:34 PM
around 27.5 to 30.5 approx, but should tell you in the motor manual

similar to this thread

https://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?160107-Installation-Help

beany1
13-01-2013, 02:40 PM
thanks again echelon.bit confused with manual,bearing in mind i am a complete novice.manual says 30 degrees minus declination angle.very confusing to the likes of ME.

beany1
13-01-2013, 02:51 PM
Ah.Page 7 of manual explains better. Elevation 39 Declination 7.4. 39-7.4=22.6 Dish Eelevation.Must be right i guess.

voyager1972
13-01-2013, 03:16 PM
best to get a lock on a sat ,then fine tune your dish to get max signal,,,,,,if motor is set ok, and brackets plumb,, you should no problems at all,,,,,,i always start with the dish plumb on 28.2 ,then fine tune from there.

echelon
13-01-2013, 03:36 PM
Ah.Page 7 of manual explains better. Elevation 39 Declination 7.4. 39-7.4=22.6 Dish Eelevation.Must be right i guess.

39 - 7.4 = 31.6 elevation m8

beany1
13-01-2013, 04:21 PM
stumped.only getting level 97% quality 9%

echelon
13-01-2013, 04:25 PM
make sure usals is enabled, and set your location on your box

make sure you are using something like 31 degrees and not the 22 you posted earlier

select thor 0.8w and bbc world news

now providing your motor latitude or elevation is set correctly, you have to use the left/right/up/down of the motor mount and dish elevation to get onto 0.8w, as long as you have no obstructions blocking 0.8w