PDA

View Full Version : Help to decide what HD receiver to buy

messi_tnt
29-03-2013, 01:41 PM
Hi there,

I am about to buy a new HD receiver, and I have never had one of these before. What I have in mind when comparing products and specifications is to look for processor, RAMs, and what software it use. Something like what you do when you are about to buy a new desktop. But I did not get that much of information like for example: What is a 32 bit superscalar RISC cpu.

So what I want to aske first : What a person should look for when choosing HD receiver?

Appreciate the help and please be patient because I am really new to this.

Regards

tr8.
29-03-2013, 05:38 PM
It's very simple the VU+ solo2 is way ahead of the rest on spec and at a good price.
If you can Handel a Linux based receiver

echelon
29-03-2013, 06:05 PM
Hi there,

But I did not get that much of information like for example: What is a 32 bit superscalar RISC cpu.

Regards

no idea and not something I would even bother to look at

what I look for are genuine boxes, good track record, good software and good support, well liked and hopefully will give good long term use

I hope I never have to bother to find out what that chip is or does

my sony tv will have chips and other stuff inside it, dont care as long as it does what I want it to do

I agree with tr8 that a vu solo 2 is currently the best machine on the market and is what I would buy at this moment in time

kojidon
29-03-2013, 07:37 PM
Hi mate if you are on a budget go for skybox f3/f4/x5 cheap at only 50 quid delivered does the job.

Plessy
29-03-2013, 09:02 PM
What is a 32 bit superscalar RISC cpu. ?

_http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superscalar

Linux RX unit's should be first on your list.
As for the Manufacture.?
Then it is down preference.
(and or support level)
I've always liked tm and still use. Simple/Ease of Use.

But I also like the Vu+ for its capabilities and picture quality calibration feature along with network integration....