PDA

View Full Version : Help setting up a S4000

number7
15-04-2013, 09:17 PM
Hi,

I hope you can help me. Ive been looking around and have got quite confused of where to start.

I have a clean S4000 box which I want to setup. I have read the tutorials but I am lost straight away :willy_nilly:

I see the firmwares out of date or glitchy so there something called the Octagon firmware but this requires a bootloader v1.54 - Where can I get this and what do I do...

You've probably guessed that Im a noob and am looking for a guide from the begining.

Can anyone help out?

Thanks in advance.

echelon
15-04-2013, 10:01 PM
1) which bootloader is on the box now ?

2) which firmware is on the box now ?

number7
15-04-2013, 10:21 PM
Thanks for responding mate.

Loader (i assume thats bootloader) version L 1.21
Then there's application version FS v1.10.67

echelon
15-04-2013, 10:25 PM
check the details in here

https://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?121122-S4000HDPVR-How-To

and here

https://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?149262-New-Bootloader-for-the-Icecrypt-S4000

its just a case of reading through the icecrypt forums and finding what you need, reading sticky threads and tutorials etc

number7
15-04-2013, 10:34 PM
So I don't need t run the Octagon stuff. I should just follow those steps?

But ive read somewhere that the latest S4000 freezes a lot and people have loaded this Octagon firmware on.

Sorry if I'm asking silly questions and thank you for your help.

echelon
15-04-2013, 11:20 PM
my thoughts are already expressed in the other threads so I am not repeating myself
its not a silly question, it just proves you havent read all the info in this forum yet
you have the choice to do as you please, so do one or the other same as I did

number7
16-04-2013, 10:44 PM
Im sorry but im stuck.

I get the message to download and install the bootloader which i do i then im stuck on installing the twin tuner?