PDA

View Full Version : Vu+solo2 Help pls

lebon
21-10-2013, 07:12 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am a total newbie with linux box and I really mean that. The question I have is currently I have a motorised dish with single lnb connected to my spiderbox. Can i use the same connection for my vu solo box using a single lnb or do I need a twin lnb. In the near future I willbe changing my dish and my lnb to twin. Thank you

Roadrunner
21-10-2013, 07:32 PM
If I were you I would use the VU and flog the spider. But thats just me.
To use both of the boxes (simultaneously) you would need a seperate feed for one of them (lnb with at least two ports aka twin). For obvious reasons VU would be hooked up to the motor so you need another dish in this setup unless you are happy with one of the stbs driving the dish to a certain sat position so both of the receivers can pic up a signal . But it would make a lot more sense to invest in another dish for a spider should you decide to keep it

lebon
21-10-2013, 07:38 PM
Thanks mate but I will not be using my spiderbox anymore. Just want to know if i could use the vu box connected to a single feed as it has a twin tuner as my current set up uses only a single lnb. Thanks

Roadrunner
21-10-2013, 07:44 PM
You can use the VU in this setup no problems, but it would make sense to upgrade the lnb to twin and run another cable so you can use both tuners on your new posh receiver

lebon
21-10-2013, 07:50 PM
Thank you .Question is only using a single feed would not short circuit the box? Secondly would i use tuner a or tuner b. Thank you

echelon
21-10-2013, 07:53 PM
Thank you .Question is only using a single feed would not short circuit the box? Secondly would i use tuner a or tuner b. Thank you

no it wont cause any damage

you would use tuner A, and configure tuner B so it knows there is only the one feed