PDA

View Full Version : Setting up an Icecrypt 3200 fresh out the box.

keithbt
15-03-2015, 12:41 AM
Hi, I'm a retired telecoms switch engineer and I took an Icecrypt 3200 ccihd out to my place in costa esuri on the Spain/ Portugal border near Ayamonte. I bought an 80cm dish, bolted it up and cabled it. I got a local guy to do the final alignment to Intelsat 907 at 27.5w., and I have a level of 90% and quality of 78%. Having set up sky dishes to Astra in the past I thought it would be easy to set up. WRONG !! I knew about having to input the biss keys, but cannot get that far.

So far I can manually scroll down to I/sat 907 and manually set up the correct freq and fec. When I do a manual search I get nothing found? I have read about hidden menus like 1407 and hence I think I'm missing a trick or two here.

The receiver is new /unused and I know is capable of working at the high frequencies. Can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong? I emailed the manufacturer, but they simply said do a manual search and select the "BBC" key? Oh, I forgot to say the purpose of all this was to access the satback service to get some bbc tv and radio 4.

I wonder if I need some additional software????? The local guy satguy had software set up on a memory stick for the micro amika box, but not for mine.

Apparently the amika box is the most common down there, so I might have dropped off choosing the Icecrypt - but I did get it VERY cheap through a friend, and it did seem to be quite well rated.

Back in the UK now but would like to sort it out when I go back next month.

ANY SUGGESTIONS PLEASE ?

Thanks

echelon
15-03-2015, 09:51 AM
hi

same ex-job here too , so get your 81`s out , lol (and see you in the Labour In Vain)

standard practice with any 3rd party box is to patch it using patched firmware, so as yours is new I assume its not patched ?