PDA

View Full Version : 27.5 West guide

gerryh
30-05-2018, 09:37 PM
Just been reading the 27.5 west guide.
Whilst doing what is specified in the guide should the TV be connected to the VU+ box?
Sorry if it's a dumb question but I am very new at this.
Cheers
Gerry

echelon
30-05-2018, 10:31 PM
yes , because otherwise you wont be able to see the onscreen menus or anything else

connecting the VU to a tv or monitor wont make any difference to actually using or modifying the vu , but it would be foolish to not connect it

it would be very rare to work on a box that is not connected to a tv by either scart or by hdmi lead or something similar

I would suggest you always connect the following

a tv by either hdmi or composite or scart lead
an ethernet connection from the box back to the router (unless using wi fi)
mains power to the box or via a power adaptor
satellite connection by coaxial cable

gerryh
31-05-2018, 07:04 AM
Thanks for the reply.
Cheers
Gerry

gerryh
31-05-2018, 09:44 AM
Got everything connected as suggested.
Working my way through the install script.
Got to the "download the oscam-ymod ipk for vix or blackhole below
put ipk file on a usb stick plug it in to your box
it will then prompt to install it"
When I plugged the usb stick in nothing appeared to happen.
Checked to see if the correct file was on the usb stick and, I believe, it is.
Where should I see the prompt?
On the TV just got a VU+ logo and a "loading...." message in the bottom right hand corner. Which it has been after going the initial box setup for language etc.
Cheers
Gerry

Mickha
31-05-2018, 12:05 PM
I load Oscam by FTP'ing the file, into the TMP folder, then installing it using the receivers menu option, of manually installing IPK file.

You can use the VUCC, VU+ Control Centre:
https://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?168091-VuCC-Vu-Control-Centre-V0-8

Personally I downloaded Filezilla, a free FTP program.