PDA

View Full Version : fine tuning my dish...

ManikM
16-01-2007, 07:27 PM
Evening all!

As most of you are aware I sorted finally rigged up my old sat equipment last weekend and got a signal.

My problem is now that as i drive the dish West - my sats are quite weak - the further West I drive it.

When i dismantled \ moved the equipment from my parents gaff - i locked it to 1 west, then dismantled it all. Since then i haven't adjusted ANY settings on the motor\dish. Its gone up as it went down (just on a new pole in a new area)

Now - I can get all sats EAST fine (nice and strong), - I can go to 30 West - but the strength is weak on the west sats (cant get 43west or 45west at all)

IN fact when i went to get the WWE RAW feed this morning on 22 west - the signal was unwatchable (below 10% quality - i used to get 70%)

My thinking is this... (and im no motorised expert)

...If i get up the ladder at the weekend, and move the dish back to 1 West - make sure its still all ok, then drive the dish 43 west - if i then, at this stage turn motor\mount slightly to the left or right on the pole - am i correct in thinking that I should be close to 43 west until it locks - if it does, then drive the dish back to 1 West to see if it all lines up still - then onto 45 east to make sure i can still get the East sats...?

Or should i goto 1West and move it slightly left or right on the pole (whilst still getting a signal on 1West) - then drive it to 43 West to see if it locks - if not, go back to 1West and move it the other way a little, (whilst still maintanining a signal) then try driving it to 43 West again....