PDA

View Full Version : Backup problems

moggyminor1966
13-07-2007, 11:51 AM
I have only just got a GO 910 and tried to do a backup and it copied them from the device but when I tried to copy them to my PC it started OK but then said "HOME cannot create an install for this item. Required information is missing from the device".

When I swith the device on it just shows the picture of the GO 910 with a large red cross and it will not do anything else.

Please can anyone help as I am new to all this and don't know how to sort it out.

Russell1
13-07-2007, 05:43 PM
Replied to this on The Den :D

xazy
19-08-2007, 02:03 AM
I have exactly the same problem in my TT910. But I did not understand the meaning of Replied to this on The Den. Please explain. cheers. Xazy

rickt
19-08-2007, 03:38 AM
But I did not understand the meaning of Replied to this on The Den. Please explain. cheers. Xazy

I think he means in simple terms , an answer was given on another forum .My friend

Russell1
19-08-2007, 10:00 AM
I think he means in simple terms , an answer was given on another forum .My friend

Correct, but I'll do a copy & paste here of the rest of the posts in the thread -
My first reply :-

Connect it back up to Tomtom Home & see if you can upgrade the software.
Can you use windows explorer to see what is on the 910 ?
When did the problem start, was it brand new when you bought it & have you managed to use it before this problem ?
Let us know how you get on with it, there's a few more things we can do to try & sort it out.

Thanks Russ-I have tried to upgrade the software but this did not work. I am not sure how I check with windows explorer-please advise. Is this program already on my Windows XP system?

The unit was second hand but is only 3 months old and I haave already used it successfully-just wanted to do a backup and install any updated maps.