PDA

View Full Version : How do I go about Getting Sky?? Please help!!!

turbojo
12-01-2008, 03:00 PM
Hi all, I'm very new to all this satellite stuff. can't get freeview very well at my house even though i've bought the worlds biggest aerial!!! So i saw in a well known national chain a fortec passion hd reciever for £150. My next door neighbour gave me a dish so i bought the reciever and cable and set to work. now i've got all the channels i want except 4 + 5. I found on a website that i need a freesat card from sky so i bought one thinking slot it in and heypresto, untill i found it wouldn't fit. So, done some research and come to the conclusion that i need a cam. Now, would i be right in thinking there isn't one which i can just buy, stuff the card in and go??? Keep on reading things like loader cards, usb things and looking for files and stuff on the net??? what would i need to buy? Don't understand, :confused: Please help!!!!!!!!

finestrat
12-01-2008, 03:30 PM
There are only a few sat receivers which will update the freesat card. The triple dragon and the dreambox are the only two I know of. The freesat card will work in a dragon cam with most receivers but will not update. If you have a s** digibox you can update the card in that and then put it back in the dragon cam. It will last about a month and then need updating again. The dreambox and triple dragon receivers are not hd.

turbojo
12-01-2008, 03:49 PM
Rght so need a dragon cam, from what i've found they do a couple of versions, 4.1 and 4.6. Will either do? Not too worried about hd, from what i've found freesat from bbc+itv will be up and running soon, hopefully with some hd stuff. Just had a word with my nextdoor neighbour also and he's got an old s*y box i can have so thats sorted. I know i could now run both together to get all the channels but would rather spend out so i can keep it all on one box. So is it just the cam i need or will there be more that i'll have to buy??

billynw
12-01-2008, 07:26 PM