PDA

View Full Version : Humax 5400 just died yesterday

billyreh
03-02-2008, 10:37 PM
I have been using my hummy for more then 10 years i think. changed power suppy about 4/5 years ago. Yesterday working fine on stanby over nigh as usuall this morning dead, when I switch it off and on i see a very faint green light just flicker. Is it the power supply again and has anyoe got a website or number to order a new one if you think it is the supply.

Taa

neilzilla
03-02-2008, 10:51 PM
highly likely to be the power supply...quite easily repairable if you fancy a go and are reasonably adept with a soldering iron.

failing that you can pick them up fairly cheaply via a well know auction site;)

suprapower
03-02-2008, 11:23 PM
^ yes that,

had a quick search.. Item 330209503676 may help.

voith driver
04-02-2008, 12:10 AM
or either go the fix it or official route, using the info in the help section

voith

DaOne
04-02-2008, 09:37 AM
Ahhh the great 5400 ..those were the days ..what a great box !:D
Sometimes its best to let sleeping dogs lie and remember it in all its glory
The Humax was a great box but maybe its time for a change since you have a really good excuse to get a new box now
( linux open source box = good option )

If not then the kiss of life maybe the next best answer to revive it. :D

mengato
04-02-2008, 09:57 AM
someone can tell if TF1, M6 etc works in humax Ci 8100 with diablo light and which stealth.

evagoras
04-02-2008, 02:32 PM
Iv still got my 5400 and its still going, great support is why i am keeping it. But i am thinking about the dreambox in future since its not worth fixing any more. My power supply has failed 4 times since i bought it in 10 years. Its the one great weakness of an otherwise excellent receiver. The capacitor heat up of what i heard and there is a liquid inside these that through time vanish causing the P.S to go.

db188
04-02-2008, 04:04 PM