PDA

View Full Version : What STB -vs- sky HD

oldfart
17-11-2008, 11:59 PM
I am thinking about getting a STB for the same price as a sky HD box (£300-400), I have a sky card subscription, so can change it for HD legit.

Want: HD, PVR expandability (multi- satellites)

Darkbox/Dreambox/AB/Topfield
Issues seem to be: support for keys/software, language (mostly germans do Vantage systems)
preferred EPG like sky (so the misses can use it!)

any advice warmly taken. p.s. Not in the UK

ManikM
18-11-2008, 12:03 AM
the tm6900 is supposed to be good,. i bought the budget fortec star passion+ can record to external usb disk.

im happy with it

but its single tuner etc.

i only used it, when something in hd comes on worth watching (bbc hd ch4 hd or itv digital)

other wise, i have my trusty sd twin tuners pvr topfield 5500 (such a great box)

Tarzan
18-11-2008, 07:34 AM
Is there any other box other than Sky's which support the Series link feature of Sky's??

oldfart
18-11-2008, 06:35 PM
was hoping for more than 1 opinion :)

joshjess
18-11-2008, 08:55 PM
The Freesat HDR will offer series link when its available but you won't be able to use your Sky card and its not known yet if it will have a hidden menu for seting up on a DiSEqC motor. For series link you will need a 7 day EPG and only the Freesat and Sky box will have the 7 day EPF assuming its for Sky or Freesat

oldfart
18-11-2008, 09:50 PM
Wonder if I would get more response from a poll :D

joshjess
18-11-2008, 10:50 PM
What else do you need to know?

You won't get an EPG like Sky as all boxes are different and all depends on the s/w and what is broadcast by the TV provider

oldfart
18-11-2008, 11:48 PM
What else do you need to know?

You won't get an EPG like Sky as all boxes are different and all depends on the s/w and what is broadcast by the TV provider

see post 1 I guess. Looking for people to say 'my xxxSTB is gr8' or such-and-such is crap ....
Is darkbox better than dreambox?

joshjess
19-11-2008, 12:34 AM