PDA

View Full Version : Dreambox DM800 cant flash image

gando
31-12-2008, 11:10 AM
I am new to the satellite world and have just bought a Dreambox 800 I am slowly finding my way but have hit a brick wall whilst tring to flash new image. I willlist the various problems/;
1. After doing a factory reset the network settings remain as how I set them up
2. When holding in the on/off button whilst powering up and getting to the stop screen an ip address is shown which has been given by DHCP (which is set to no) and does not show my manual IP address
3.When I try to use flash ****** pro 6.3 after setting up my internet settings and try to ope the gemini 3.9 file a window opens saying This is not supported (yet) on DM7020
4. When using dreamup 1.3.3.4 or 1.3.3.2 the only serial port available to me is Com3 - after starting the software and restarting the dreambox the dreambox is never found and the message of - connection prepared now switch on the dreambox remains.

I have tried a null cable, a direct connection with a cross over cable and also through a network set up
I can ping the dreambox and a bit of software called Dreambox control centre which I found shows there is a connection from my laptop to the router and also the dreambox but I am still not abl to get to a position to flash a new image.

Can anyone help please?

sonic1
31-12-2008, 11:36 AM
post 6

https://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?t=88357

You need DCHP enabled on your router and you can not use your fixed ip

karlpowell
31-12-2008, 11:50 AM
you can just give the box a IP on the same subnet as your network , So if his pc has a fixed ip of 192.168.0.10 and the router (gateway) IP is 192.168.0.1 for EG , then he could just give the box a IP on the same subnet IE 192.168.0.9 so long as nothing on the network has the same IP

sorry i wrote this before i read all your thread but since it is relavent to people with no dhcp and not trying to flash over lan then i will let it stay .